My 30 Day Yoga Challenge, Day 24 (Honor the Moon)


My 30 Day Yoga Challenge, Day 24

(Honor The Moon)

yogachallenge

[ Celebrate Womanhood ]

There was a time when I would get my menstrual cycle and I would be utterly disappointed.

For me, it meant

horrible pain, dizziness, dehydration, exhaustion and the complete feeling of helplessness. 

You see, I was raised by a single-parent father. And though I appreciate and respect him for doing the best he could to raise a daughter by himself (since I was 5-months old), I still had to learn how to be a woman in many ways by myself. The first time I had a period, I was 9 years old… through shear trauma and pain, I finally started to have what I call, “a happy period”, in my mid-20s.

Today, I celebrate my period, my menstrual cycle, my happy period, my Moon Cycle, as a way to Celebrate Womanhood.

[ The Experience ]

Today was the first time in over a year or so where my Moon Cycle came with a vengeance.  I totally credit it to not taking care of myself this past week; working on my business overtime, and eating junk to save time.  Bad idea! LOL

But, I thank the beautiful practice of Yoga being in my life. Because even though I didn’t make it to a class at the studio today, I was able to still do Yoga.  I looked online for some Menstrual Cycle-specific poses and found some.  I integrated one of the poses into my practice today and you have no idea how grateful I am!

In case you are curious, here are two of the resources I found:

Pose #1:  Bow pose or dhanurasana
Pose #1: Bow pose or dhanurasana

[ The Takeaway ]

Yoga is just a beautiful thing.  I never thought that 22 years after having my first Moon Cycle I’d be tending to my discomfort with Yoga, targeting my belly and lower back in gentle, effective ways.  My breathing deepened at the end of my practice tonight, too (when I first started, it was shallow and fast).

The best part, I only invested 20 minutes of my time for this healing. I find that as I Salute the Sun in my practice, Yoga also allows me to Honor The Moon.

Now, I will definitely continue Yoga (and eat right and balance my work load properly).  

Oh and I also use Carnelian, a healing crystal to naturally heal my Moon Cycle discomfort, as well as to stay focused in my business. Win-win!

http://www.healing-crystals-for-you.com/carnelian-stones.html
http://www.healing-crystals-for-you.com/carnelian-stones.html

[ Question For You ]

What are some holistic remedies you use for PMS?

Please comment below!

Here’s to your health, happiness and WHOLENESS!

ABOUT TERA

~

THANK YOU FOR READING MY BLOG! If this is your first time, make sure to Follow me! Oh, and Please share! You never know who you will inspire and motivate by simply passing the info along as I have for you! 🙂

****

Click below to listen and subscribe to my weekly podcast!
Music. Wellness. Inspiration.

The DJ Health Coach Podcast on iTunes!
Click the image to Listen and Subscribe to The DJ Health Coach Podcast
Leave a Reply

